Thursday, October 7, 2010


Columbus Day became an official United States federal holiday in 1970. "Since 1971, the holiday has been commemorated in the U.S. on the second Monday in October, the same day as Thanksgiving in neighboring Canada. Many states and cities with large Native American populations do not recognize Columbus Day or celebrate "Indigenous People's Day" or "Native American Day" instead. Many countries celebrate Christopher Columbus's arrival in the New World under the names Día de la Raza (Day of the Race) or Day of the Cultures, Day of the Americas, Discovery Day, Spanish Day (Spain), or Día de la Resistencia Indígena (Day of Indigenous Resistance - Venezuela).